A new Board of Education

Images from CMS website, meeting video

Images from CMS website, meeting video

Dec. 14, 2011

Tuesday’s Board of Education meeting marked the installation of new members and the beginning of a new chapter in the board’s work.

We congratulate Ericka Ellis-Stewart, lower left, who was elected chairperson of the board, and Mary McCray, lower right, who was elected vice chairperson.

One member is missing from the top photo: In January, the board is scheduled to appoint a ninth member to fill the District 6 term of Tim Morgan. Morgan, Ellis-Stewart and McCray were elected to at-large seats in November.

Members are, from left in top photo, Eric Davis, District 5; Ellis-Stewart; Joyce Waddell, District 3; Morgan; McCray; Richard McElrath, District 2; Rhonda Lennon, District 1; and Tom Tate, District 4.

The entire board faces a difficult road reuniting the community behind the task of educating all students. Chairperson Ellis-Stewart’s role will be particularly challenging and time-consuming. We wish every one of these public servants well.